Will Pitchers Ever Hit Again?

When we heard that the MLB would be implementing a universal DH rule, we all started to wonder if pitchers would ever hit again. The obvious answer that comes to your head is no if you think that this rule will stay, but let’s look a bit closer.

Will this rule stay?

This is a key factor. I don’t want to give any guarantees, but I do think that it won’t stay. That would solve this question pretty quickly.

If it does stay, will they ever hit again?

Yes. There are so many scenarios that could arise to make a pitcher hit again. There are some really good hitting pitchers — take Michael Lorenzen or Shohei Ohtani for example — who could bat as pinch hitters. In 2016 Madison Bumgarner batted for himself instead of a DH, and he proved his manager’s decision right as he hit a double.

Will it affect baseball in a negative way if the rule stays?

Yes and no. It won’t hurt the players — far from it — but it might annoy some old timers who don’t like the new rule.

To me, it doesn’t matter whether pitchers bat or not, because at the end of the day it’s just baseball. And that will never, ever change, no matter the rule change.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: